New Best-Of-The-Best Dog Crate Reviews

What’s the best for your pet? Check out dog crate reviews, but the answer is … it depends! Yes, it depends on your lifestyle and what you need a crate to be. Is it a mini room addition to your house? Is it a portable carrying case? Does it need to be a decorative item in your apartment? Does it need to fit in the back seat of your car or  an airplane?

Here’s the best of the best. Each is  constructed a little differently from the other. There’s a cloth one, a plastic one, a metal wire one, and a heavy duty one. Among the dog crate reviews, each is the best of its class and each has a complete description, the top positive reviews, and the top negative reviews:

d BEST Soft Cloth Portable:

Description:

  • Durable, Well-Ventilated Pet Crate For Indoor Or Outdoor Use
  • Made With New Heavy-Duty Tight-Weave Mesh Fabric
  • For pets up to 70 pounds
  • Sets Up In Seconds Anywhere You Want To Go
  • Rounded Corners Protect Home Décor And Auto InteriorThe N2-36 Measures 36″L X 24″W X 27″H When Assembled And Is Appropriate For Pets Up To 70 Pounds.

Best Positive Review:

Great crate and easy to set up
May 11, 2015
I just received this 42″ crate and my 72 lb Golden Retriever is already asleep in it. Many people commented on the smell and I came close to not buying it because of those reviews. There is a new plastic smell to it but obviously it doesn’t bother my dog since she’s sleeping in it now. I do plan to air it out for a few days to see if the smell will go away but if it doesn’t I’m not too concerned about it. The crate is lightweight and really easy to set up. You won’t be disappointed if you purchase this crate.

Best Negative Review:

I was hoping this soft crate would be sturdy enough …
August 19, 2016
I brought this in June to replace a midwest metal crate which my standard poodle puppy got her jaws stuck between the bars …  I was hoping this soft crate would be sturdy enough for her with the added factor of less things such as bars for her to injure herself. The first 3 days I used it she did very well so I threw away the box. Of course the next day I left her in the crate for 2 hours to take my child to a doctor appointment and when I got back she had torn the mesh next to the zipper by the front door. Very disappointing.

d BEST Hard Plastic Portable:


Description:

  • Heavy duty, high plastic construction made in the USA
  • Non-corrosive plastic wing nuts; extra strong steel wire
    Secure door latches and easy to operate
  • Heavy-duty, high strength plastic construction
  • Made in the USA

Best Positive Review:

There is NO kennel that is “airline approved” w/o modifications. This one comes the closest!

5.0 out of 5 stars
By AmazonJunkie
December 14, 2014
This was the only kennel I found that came closest to airline requirements. It is approved by the USDA and IATA. We were on a military move from the states so this a review on the international kennel features and requirements only.

Best Negative Review:

Great product but low quality control

3.0 out of 5 stars
By Julie333
March 6, 2017
This is a great product. It’s sturdy and holds my ACD well. The sides are well made and the airflow holes still maintain the structural integrity of the crate. It comes with the stickers and the dishes required to fly, though you’ll need metal bolts as these are plastic on one side.

My only complaint is that the door doesn’t close correctly because of a manufacturing defect.

d BEST Metal Wire Portable:

 

Description:

  • Double door metal dog crate, 48L x 30W x 33H inches
  • Includes free divider panel, leak-proof plastic pan, carrying handle, rubber feet to protect floors and a 1 year Manufacturer’s Warrranty. We manufacture the iCrate and the Life Stages Dog Crate.
  • The main difference is the Life Stages is made of heavier gauge steel and has a tighter wire mesh making it stronger than iCrate.
  • Two slide-bolt latches securely lock door in place
  • Dog crate folds flat for convenient storage, travel and portability
  • Strong and sturdy structual metal crate design creates a safe place for your pet while you’re away

Best Positive Review:

Sturdy, reliable
March 11, 2017
Sturdy, reliable, easy to setup, versatile safe haven for our two pups. The divider is a must for puppies! I have sense of relief knowing my fur babies can’t escaped this well constructed crate. It’ll keep them safe and my house from being destroyed. A very well made product for a very reasonable price. The only con if you can even call it that is the crate is very heavy but if you don’t plan on moving it much then this is a non-issue. If you do plan on moving it, it will need to broken down bc it won’t fit thru a standard door. I would highly recommend this product!!!

Best Negative Review:

Annoying gate latching mechanism
May 22, 2016
We bought this crate for our newest family member and in comparison to the Top Paw, life stages type cage we already have, I don’t care for this one as much. Both are sturdy and well made, both are collapsible, both have side doors, but the biggest difference lies in the locking mechanism for the door (front door in this case, as we don’t use the other door for either crate). With the Top Paw, the latching mechanism involves a slight lifting of the door to drop it into a series of latches along the edge of the opening. With a handle on the top of the door, this is quick and easy. With the MidWest crate, latching the door involves sliding two, separate, pins into corresponding latches on the frame of the door. These are a pain!

d BEST Heavy Duty:

Description:

  • STURDY:Heavy duty steel wire for cage body and metal square tube as frame.Double stainless latches to avoid accident escaping
  • EASY:We assembled it in less than 10 minute, majority of the part already pre assembled,just follow the steps on the image to install
  • CONVENIENT:Top and front door design makes it easier to access or feeding your pets
  • DURABLE:High-grade hammertone finished,rust and chew resistant with non-toxic environmentally friendly paint
  • PRACTICAL:Four wheels (two lockable) for convenient portability and easy storage.Equipped with a steel tray for easy cleanup

Top Positive Review:

Easy to put together once out of the box
September 20, 2017

Top Negative Review:

This crate wasn’t quite what I had expected. …
 3.0 out of 5 stars
October 9, 2017
This crate wasn’t quite what I had expected. For starters, it was partially assembled in the package incorrectly. The top was screwed down to the floor and the floor was intended to be the top. It now has hinges just hanging. If it were smaller and easier to return–I’d do so. Not worth the 300 bucks in my case.